Oshawa U18 AAA Year in Review, News (Oshawa Minor Hockey)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
Oshawa U18 AAA Year in Review
Submitted By Lynn Jennings on Wed 04 12, 23
We started the season hot out of the gate with a 9-0-2-0 (W-L-T-OTL) record before our first loss. Unfortunately that loss prevented us from advancing to the elimination round of our first tournament in Ottawa.

We battled through sickness and injuries after that, but managed to have a solid showing in Chicago. A 3-1 record didn’t quite get it done to advance however and the ups and downs continued in December.

The Christmas break helped the players get refreshed and the new year started well leading up to a tournament in Peterborough. This is where the boys really came together going 4-0 in the round robin, winning the quarter finals and just falling short in OT in the semi-finals against Waterloo who won the tournament.

We continued pushing forward going into the playoffs and started out with a 4-0 record, needing only 1 point in our last two games to clinch a berth in the OMHA Championship. The break at this time didn’t help us. We came back and lost both games, leaving us hosting a tie breaking game against Quinte. We left no doubt in that one, controlling the game the whole way winning 3-0.

Off to the OMHA Championship we went, going 2-0-1 in the round robin, winning our group and playing Burlington. A triple OT goal sent us to the gold medal game against our rivals in Ajax-Pickering. A solid defensive effort allowed us to capture gold in a 2-0 victory and book a ticket to the U18 Central Region Championship in Windsor.

At the Central Region Championship, we finished the round robin in first place with a 4-0-0-1 record. With that dominance, we cleaned up at the awards banquet the night before the semi finals started. The award winners were:

Scoring Leader: Beckett Ewart
Top Forward: Charlie Hilton
Top Defenceman: Alex Pasternak
MVP: Braeden Derks

Unfortunately the team wasn’t able to pull out victories in the semi finals or bronze medal game, losing both in overtime. 

While we fell short of our goal to head to the U18 National Championships in Quebec, we still didn’t lose in regulation in our last 13 games going 9-0-1-3, and ultimately finishing the season ranked 3rd in Ontario with an overall season record of 46-13-10-4.

The team consists of goalies Braeden Derks and Sebastian Moncada, defencemen Payton Rickards, Nick Galeazza, Alex Pasternak, Sebastian Labrie, Liam Longo and Ayden Burt, forwards Connor D'Angelo, Beckett Ewart, Mason Korry, Charlie Hilton, Owen Clark, Mason Morden, Evan Breckles, John McKinney, Ethan MacDonald and Joey Crngarov. Team staff are Tyler Turcotte, Dylan Hutton, Jamie Creamer, Ryan Simpson, Gerald Tiller, Taylor Collins and John Clark.

Watch out for these players as they continue their hockey careers.

They have all represented Oshawa Minor Hockey very well! Congrats again to the whole team and good luck in the future! 

This article has been viewed 612 times.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 05
    2023-24 Development Skates begin May 6th. 
  • 03
    Oshawa Minor has positions available for U10 goalies (Born 2014). If you know anyone who may be interested please have them register online at oshawahockey.com or contact [email protected].  Must be Oshawa residents!!  We are still ...
  • 02
    Congratulations to three former Minor Gens players, Liam Wells (2003), Chase Longhurst (2003) and Lucas Lowe (2005) on winning the NOJHL Championship with their team, the Timmins Rock this past weekend!    Great to see and good luck in the ...
  • 16
    U16 C
  • 12
    Oshawa will host the following tournaments during the 2023-24 Season. 
  • 11
    REMINDER - Oshawa Minor Hockey will be hosting our year end banquet(s) at the newly renovated/updated Nebs Fun world in Oshawa, beginning this Friday April 14th! Details are below:   
  • 04
    Oshawa Minor Hockey Association 2023-24 Annual General Meeting. 
  • 07
    Congratulations to Bob Amos. He was recently awarded the Queens Platinum Jubilee Award.  This award for volunteer service is presented to Robert Amos in commemoration of the seventieth anniversary of Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth"s Accession ...
Printed from oshawahockey.com on Saturday, June 3, 2023 at 1:46 PM